Final Post

At the end of the day, I have fallen in love with the idea of a Genius Hour. Through this project, I have gotten to explore a facet of education that I’m really interested in. Just three weeks ago, the idea of a flipped classroom was completely foreign to me. Now I’m so excited to see how they take place in the future. Though I likely won’t make any more blog posts or tweets about flipped classrooms, I will definitely keep up with the news about them. I am genuinely curious.

One of the biggest things I learned through this project is value of good resources. Twitter has probably been my favorite. From twitter chats to simply searching hashtags, I have learned so much from so many different professionals. I’ve also learned the value of blogs, testimonials, and professional articles. Many of the things we read about for our other tasks helped to shed light on my flipped classroom project.

Although I learned vast amounts about the education field in general, I learned the most specifically about flipped classrooms. My question that began this project was: are flipped classrooms a trend or are they here to stay? I can wholeheartedly say that… I don’t know. There simply isn’t enough research to say definitively what will happen. However, I can also wholeheartedly say that I hope they do stick around. I want my children to experience that type of classroom. I want all children to experience a classroom where they feel comfortable being confused and confident enough to speak up for themselves. I really believe a flipped classroom has so much to offer students.

Leave a Reply

