Research

Upon looking further into my research question: are flipped classrooms a trend or here to stay, I found many sites, advice columns, articles, and blogs from many different resources. Though I found a vast amount of information, I have narrowed it down to three really great sites (I’ll post the links at the bottom – make sure you check them out).

First, based on a suggestion from my twitter chat, I found ISTE.org writer and educator Jonathan Bergmann’s article explaining how a flipped classroom might be a better approach to teaching the new common core standards. He explains that the common core was set up to make students think deeper about many unique situations instead of teaching a broad set of facts and figures for them to simply memorize. However, most teachers are prepared for teaching the common core only by learning what the standards are – not how to teach them. Bergmann suggests the flipped classroom approach, saying this model allows teachers to dive deeper into questions with their students. What I like most about this article is it doesn’t just give you one answer or opinion. He opens the floor up for discussion, and if you have an ISTE account, you can and should participate in this discussion. I believe he is on to something. If students are supposed to gain deeper thinking and analytical skills, the teacher should be right there to help them along!

By coincidence, I stumbled upon Bergmann’s blog. He implements the flipped classroom model himself and keeps track of it.  Once I found this, I knew I couldn’t pass it up. In his latest post, he explains that he visited a classroom where the teacher implements the most basic form of a flipped classroom: short video at night and typical homework assignments in class. He notes that the students were ready to work on their tasks as soon as she assigned them. This makes me think that just having time for the information (even from a short, three minute video) to soak into the students’ minds overnight allows them to be more prepared the tasks at hand. I know personally I learn better when I review something once and then come back to it again a short time later. That’s how I learn processes and the logical side of things (and believe me, accounting is very logical but I usually miss it at first because I’m too busy memorizing notes). Bergmann also says that each student watched the video and one student even watched it twice because he didn’t understand. This shows me that the students are actually trying to learn. Most of them aren’t just watching the video just to be done with their homework – they are watching it so they can be prepared to actually learn the topic in class the next day.

Lastly, I was given another teacher’s website on twitter (funny how that works). This site has a whole host of information on flipped classrooms for educators, students, and parents! And all of the information comes straight from a teacher using the flipped model. I love the resources this site provides because it’s great for all kinds of research on the topic! The one thing I’ve overlooked throughout my research is parents and their roles in the flipped classroom model. Just as the teacher’s role slightly changes, so does the parent’s. With a flipped classroom, parents can watch the video with their children and know exactly what is being taught in school. Also, they help more with teaching the student at home. Many times, a student will learn one way of doing things at school, ask for help with homework from their parents and learn a completely different method at home. This often leads to confusion for the student and tension between parents and teachers. With the flipped model, teachers are more available to parents, and parents feel like their more involved in their child’s education.

 

Links:

ISTE.org:

https://www.iste.org/explore/ArticleDetail?articleid=3&utm_source=Social&utm_medium=Twitter&utm_campaign=FLIP

Jonathan Bergmann’s Blog:

http://flippedclass.com/flipping-a-third-grade-class/

Cybraryman’s Site:

http://www.cybraryman.com/flipclass.html

Leave a Reply

